Elijah (to the tune of Tom Jones’ Delilah)

I heard a cry and a sigh coming right down the hallway
Was hoping to sleep, but instead I had woken in hell
It was my child
He was awake, which meant I had to wake up as well

Cry cry cry Elijah
Why why why Elijah
Instantly, I knew what his problem would be
He wanted milk and the person to get it was me

Went down to the kitchen and sleepily made him a bottle
Went back upstairs to his room and I opened the door
He lay there crying
He saw the milk in my hand and he cried no more

Cry cry cry Elijah
Why why why Elijah
I could see that he loved his milk more than me
I did not care though, I burped him and went back to sleep

This entry was posted in Children and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

