Bonus post – A weird moment in Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

I wanted to comment on this at the time, but was aware that some of my friends hadn’t yet seen the season two finale… then I promptly forgot all about it, until this morning.

[Spoilers obviously, though not huge ones]

So, Sky finally meets her father, the reunion doesn’t go quite how either of them wanted and they’re both sitting in contemplative silence.
[I am doing this largely from memory, but you’ll get the idea]
* Sky’s father starts whistling *
Sky: I recognise that.
Sky’s father: I used to sing it to you when you were a baby.
* Sky realises that maybe he wasn’t such a bad father once upon a time.

All very nice, except for one thing… rather than making up an original little ditty to whistle, the writers chose to have him whistle Daisy, Daisy.
I can’t help feeling that the conversation should have gone something more like this…
* Sky’s father starts whistling *
Sky: I recognise that.
Sky’s father: I used to sing it to you when you were a baby.
Sky: No, no… it’s Daisy, Daisy isn’t it?
Sky’s father: Yes, you recognise it from your childhood.
Sky: No, I recognise it from 2001: A Space Odyssey.
Sky’s father: But…
Sky: Plus, it’s a well known song in its own right. Frankly you could have whistled anything you knew I’d recognise and then claimed that you sang it to me as a baby.
* Sky’s father starts whistling Poker Face by Lady Gaga *
Sky: Nice try, Dad… that wasn’t even out when I was a baby.

Anyway, I just wanted to get that off my chest.

This entry was posted in Ponderings, TV and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

