Top 5 internet links

Ok, so that title is probably a bit of an overstatement; the internet has a lot of links and I can’t pretend that I know all of them (or even most of them). Pretty much everyone with a [Facebook/Twitter/Other social media] account will have encountered the kind of links saying “30 funniest autocorrects” or “20 hilarious exam question answers”; I don’t always read these, but occasionally I’ll crack one open and have a bit of a chuckle. However, for the most part, they’re just more of the same stuff being recycled and reposted; a quick Google search will turn up 100 similar pages, many with the exact same content.
Sometimes though, something a little more unique comes along… something fascinating that wouldn’t fill a Google search with a million clones. When this happens, I put the link into an Evernote folder entitled “Links to Keep”, so that I can find it again in the future. I’ve just taken a look through the folder and here are five of the best:

User Unfriendly – These are just plain extraordinary; I couldn’t come up with such perfect uselessness if I tried.

30 minute Infinity Scarf – I can’t knit and I’m not that crafty, so the fact that I successfully produced one of these with minimal difficulty makes me very proud.

A Cartoonist’s advice – Great advice, done in the style of a great cartoonist.

Horror movie short – Digital filming and the internet have made it substancially easier to create and share short films, so there is some great stuff out there. This is one of the creepiest and most effective I’ve seen in the horror genre.

What do you make? – I know a lot of teachers and while I might tease them over the amount of holidays they get, they deserve a great deal of respect, which this comic gives them.

Bonus link:
It doesn’t get better – I couldn’t put this into the top five because I still can’t quite decide what it is. I’m not sure if it’s an extraordinary deadpan joke (it certainly has funny lines), a semi-serious warning (it also has poignant lines) or just a neat little film project (it’s well put together in any case).

This entry was posted in Internet, Top 5 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top 5 internet links

  1. Pingback: More internet links | Notes on a Giant Man

Leave a Reply

